Find IFSC Code and MICR code across branches

What is IFSC Code?

The Indian Financial System Code (IFSC Code) is an alphanumeric code that uniquely identifies a bank-branch participating in the two main Electronic Funds Settlement Systems in India: the Real Time Gross Settlement (RTGS) and the National Electronic Funds Transfer (NEFT) Systems. This is an 11-character code.

IFSC is an 11-character code with

  • the first four alphabetic characters representing the bank name.
  • and the last six characters (usually numeric, but can be alphabetic) representing the branch.
  • The fifth character is 0 (zero) and reserved for future use.

IFSC Code is used by the NEFT & RTGS systems to route the messages to the destination banks/branches.

An example of SBI IFSC Code Jaipur is SBIN0020702.


What is MICR Code?

MICR stands for Magnetic Ink Character Recognition. It is used for processing cheques in the financial sector. MICR Code is 9 digit numeric code that identifies a Bank branch which is participating in the ECS system.

Indian Bank MICR Code consists of 9 digits. e.g 524 019 003

  • First 3 digits represent the city (524 019 003)
  • Next 3 digits represent the bank (524 019 003)
  • Last 3 digits represent the branch (524 019 003)

Leave a Comment


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)